sun spot

The other day I happened to look out the window to see the sun finally breaking through the heavy fog that had been hanging around all morning. I’ve kind of moved away from using the “intentional camera movement” technique lately (it can be frustratingly unpredictable!), but decided to try it for this shot to create an abstract image. The resulting blend of light, shadow and reflection created an almost metallic effect which I quite liked.

Pender Island abstract seascape

24 thoughts on “sun spot

  1. katieprior

    The effect worked a treat here! I’ve been trying to experiment with intentional camera movement, you need just the right amount of light and contrast and you’ve nailed it!

    Reply
  2. AnnetteM

    That is beautiful. It is not a technique I have ever tried and I can see it would be tricky. How come the foreground looks sharp though if the camera was moved to create blur in the clouds – or did you tilt the camera rather than move it horizontally?

    Reply
    1. bythebriny Post author

      A science-y question so early in the morning! 🙂 *shifts brain into gear*

      I moved the camera along a horizontal arc, with myself as the axis. That is, I was standing in one spot but rotating as I held the camera. So the foreground moved less, relatively speaking, than the background and was therefore less blurred. I hope this explanation helps.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

