scribbles

A while back I was out on a very dull grey day. Not the most inspiring light for photography, but my eye was attracted by this reflection of a tree in a lake, distorted by the slightly rippled water. I converted the image to black and white as the scene was almost monochrome to begin with.

I’m pretty sure if I ever tried my hand at calligraphy, this is what it would look like. And speaking of calligraphy, here’s a wonderful short video of a calligraphy master at work.

monochrome reflection, Pender Island

19 thoughts on “scribbles

    1. bythebriny Post author

      Thanks! The video does kind of make me want to try my hand at calligraphy, but my handwriting skills have sadly deteriorated since I started using a keyboard for written work. (I like your new profile picture!)

      Reply
  1. sustainabilitea

    I love reflections and I think that B&W works so well for this. I have a very similar photo in my files, but in color. I’ll have to see what it looks like in B&W. Thanks for the inspiration. πŸ™‚

    jaent

    Reply
  2. Paige

    Love the abstract AND the video. I actually learned calligraphy when I was younger and I was pretty good at it. Nothing like this guy though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

