summer solstice

Happy first day of summer! Today is the longest day of the year in the northern hemisphere.

Summers here on Pender Island are wonderful. Days are sunny and warm, rarely becoming unpleasantly hot thanks to ocean breezes. Nights are cool, humidity is low, and mosquitoes and other annoying bugs are few.

However, summer is not my best-loved photography season. Early morning is my favourite time to be out with my camera, but I’m not hard-core enough to set my alarm for 4:00 AM to catch a summer sunrise, and the sun is already high in the sky and the best light gone by 7:00 AM. So bring on the later sunrises and earlier sunsets — I’m not at all sad that the days will be getting shorter from here on out.

This shot was taken a couple of days ago on a south Pender Island beach, around 9:45 PM or about half an hour after sunset.

Gowlland Point, Pender Island B.C.

27 thoughts on “summer solstice

  1. Lena

    Im not an early bird either, even though I try to set the alarm really early at least one time every summer so I agree. A very beautiful photo!

    Reply
  2. Murtagh's Meadow

    Stunning:) Happy Summer solstice to you too. It sounds like perfect summer weather you experience there on Pender Island. Here it rains a bit much – but that keeps everything green.

    Reply
    1. bythebriny Post author

      Thank you! We get a lot of rain from November to April, and then go semi-Mediterranean for the summer. It’s not a bad thing at all. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. sustainabilitea

    Summer solstice, eh? Maybe that’s why I feel an urge to dance outside around a fire. πŸ™‚ As much as I love shots of sunrise, I agree that it’s much too early these days to be out looking for a good one. I’ll wait until the days get quite bit shorter, although I’m in no hurry for that to happen! Summer goes by much too quickly as it is and I do love having lots of light. I also love the light you caught in your shot and the in-action waves breaking on the shore.

    janet

    Reply
  4. Noortje Russel

    I think I have to move to Pender Island…
    Beautiful photo… but I know exactly what you mean about the short days, since the butterflies and dragonflies are best caught at first daylight as well… *big sigh* that’s soooooo early! But I do love the long evenings in summer in which you can still go for a walk late in the evening and enjoy the sunset. At least when it’s not pouring with rain, as it has the whole day today, this first day of summer…

    Reply
      1. bythebriny Post author

        I think it depends what time zone you’re in. Here it happens today at 3:34 PM in my time zone, which would already be tomorrow for you. So we’re both right. πŸ™‚

  5. A Curious Introvert

    Wonderful shot and I love how you captured the water. I am also a morning person and someone who enjoys summer until it consistently goes over 90 degrees and then I start waiting for fall, which happens to be my favorite season.

    Reply
  6. Claudette

    You have such a lovely quality of light.
    I am very happy to say that, here in Oz, today has been our shortest day and I am gleefully looking forward to more light every day. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. bythebriny Post author

      The light here can be very beautiful indeed. I know that feeling of turning the corner after winter solstice — enjoy your longer days!

      Reply
  7. dunelight

    You are pointing out my own laziness to me. I have shot our inland sea with an eye to the shutter speed…once. Once is not enough. Your lovely photo inspires me to move those dials around!

    Reply
  8. Paige

    Happy summer … I too am looking forward to the shorter days, but July is still yet to be enjoyed. It will all go quickly. Looking forward to a summer on Pender Island through your eyes. : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

