taste tester

Yesterday morning, I was prowling the yard with my macro lens and found this swallowtail. It was so intent on its hunt for sweet, sweet nectar in the salvia flowers that it didn’t mind me getting extremely close.

swallowtail face, Pender Island B.C.

The butterflies and hummingbirds seem to prefer the red hot poker flowers above all; the bees prefer the salvia. But now that the pokers are just about done blooming, the salvia plant is the centre of attention. This plant seeded itself in our garden last year, and has thrived. And what a great plant it is, flowering non-stop from May to September. I notice we have a whole bunch of new little plants around it, so I’m hoping that next year there will be plenty of salvia for all the little critters.

13 thoughts on “taste tester

  1. Murtagh's Meadow

    Love the way you have caught those eyes and tongue! It’s amazing what the camera can capture that we can hardly see with our naked eye.

    Reply
    1. bythebriny Post author

      Thank you! Yes, a macro lens picks up a lot of detail, which can often be great! And sometimes not so great when it highlights imperfections or distractions. 🙂

      Reply
  2. sustainabilitea

    I have a macro lens for my Nikon, but haven’t used it yet. Sigh. Right now I tend to use my iPhone or my Nikon with telephoto from a distance. 🙂 One of these day. This shot could inspire me to get started and get out my new tripod as well.

    janet

    Reply
    1. bythebriny Post author

      I so love my macro lens, but only use my tripod with it when I have a completely immobile subject. For bugs which often move, I find a tripod more of a hindrance than a help.

      Reply
  3. LaNae

    The swallowtails have been swirling around the yard ever since I planted flowers a couple of weeks ago. Here’s hoping one will eventually slow down enough to get a shot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

