cropped images in the WordPress Reader

Dear photography/art bloggers: Have you noticed that the WordPress Reader is now displaying only a cropped version of your carefully composed photo/artwork? Worse yet, the crop is of the top third of the image, which in many cases eliminates the main subject of your photo. I’m concerned that this poorly thought out change will have a detrimental effect on viewership for all bloggers who rely on imagery to drive traffic to their sites. If you care, please make your voice heard in the forum on this thread.

Edit: It appears the WordPress Reader cropping problem is not affecting everyone. I hope someone from WordPress responds to the forum thread to clarify this issue.

Edit 2: It seems the problem is happening in my Safari browser (Mac) but not in Firefox. I haven’t tested Chrome because I don’t have that. For now as a workaround I’ll use Firefox for my WordPress viewing.

Edit 3: I updated my Mac OS to the latest version of Yosemite (10.10.5), restarted Safari and loaded up WordPress. The images in the reader are now displaying in full, hooray! So if you’re on a Mac and are having the cropping problem, it is worth trying to update your OS to the latest version (a good idea in any case).

Grimmer Bay Pender Island

29 thoughts on “cropped images in the WordPress Reader

    1. bythebriny Post author

      Looks like the issue is not affecting everyone, which would explain the low response on the forum thread. We are the unlucky ones, it appears. 😦

      Reply
      1. Murtagh's Meadow

        I’ve just read through some f the feedback on the thread. I am viewing on Firefox on a desktop – will check out other browsers and see what it is like.

      2. Murtagh's Meadow

        Windows – and just updated firefox and getting cropped image still in reader but on google chrome it works fine – I get full image – so may just have to swap browser for now!

    1. bythebriny Post author

      You don’t see a cropped version of images in the WordPress Reader? Interesting, maybe it’s not affecting everyone, which would be a good thing. And thank you!

      Reply
  1. AnnetteM

    I hadn’t noticed actually. Is this happening on all platforms do you think? Will check out the thread and keep an eye on my photos too. Did it happen with this post photo – I will check it out on my Mac to see if it looks different in the reader than on the post itself.

    Reply
      1. AnnetteM

        I am using an old Macbook and Chrome and haven’t noticed any cropping yet. Will keep my eyes open though and maybe check some other platforms.

  2. Donna

    Is it occurring in both horizontal and vertical orientations? Can the problem be narrowed down to specific browser or WordPress versions? I hadn’t noticed it when I view your blog. I know Instagram supposedly now allows any orientation besides square, but that only applies to horizontal. Most limits to 5:4. I can imagine how annoying that is. Good luck!

    ps. Hit them up at Twitter?

    Reply
    1. bythebriny Post author

      Thanks for the suggestions, Donna. The issue appears to be isolated to my Safari browser. Firefox seems fine. I don’t have Chrome so I haven’t tested there. I’ll be using Firefox as a workaround until I figure out this Safari thing…I’ve been putting off updating to the latest version of Mac OS but perhaps the time is now.

      Reply
  3. June

    My theme actually does the same thing on my homepage so I’m been setting up my cover images to take this into account. I would prefer if the full image was displayed in the reader, though. I too see a cropped image. I’ll pop over to the forum and leave a comment.

    Reply
  4. dunelight

    I had been away from WP for awhile and when I came back I found that I had far less..how do I say it…editing choices. Thanks for running this down. I had not seen the cropped problems.

    Reply
  5. blowery

    Howdy,

    I just found this post and thought I would shed some light on what you were seeing. Back in March, we were running a test of various ways to limit the maximum height of featured images in the post stream. It had nothing to do with the specific browser, but the test was tied to a cookie in the browser being used. That why switching browsers could make it appear that the setting had changed.. We stopped the test about a week after it started, restoring full size images to the stream.

    The idea was to try and condense the posts in the stream more, so that more posts could be on screen at once and you’d be able to skim through a series of posts more quickly. We went back to the drawing board and are working on some new ways to make it easy to skim through the reader to find interesting things.

    Hope that clears things up!

    Ben, Reader Lead, Automattic

    Reply

Leave a Reply

