Craddock beach sunrise

I was lucky to catch a few moments of yesterday’s rising sun before it disappeared behind the clouds. The wind was chilly but the waves were perfect — lively enough to make things interesting, but not so wild that they sprayed my camera (or me).

Craddock sunrise Pender Island B.C.

I finally bought myself a cheap wired shutter release (the Vello RS-C1II for those who are curious) and this beach outing was the perfect opportunity to try it out. It worked without a hitch and made it so much easier to capture a wave or water-trail shot than using my camera’s self-timer.

22 thoughts on “Craddock beach sunrise

  1. Lena

    This is so beautiful. I really like the branch and the small stones in the front to make the photo something extra. I have been thinking about bying me one of those too, I can imagine it becomes more easy to work with long exposured with that.

    Reply
  2. rwanderman

    Call me dense but I’m not sure why the remote shutter release AND the self-timer on the camera. Doesn’t the self-timer take the shake out no matter how you push the shutter button?

    Reply
    1. bythebriny Post author

      I use one or the other, not both. The self-timer eliminates the shake, but a two-second delay makes it hard to precisely time a photo of, say, a wave. This would be a situation when I’d use my shutter release instead, so I can take the shot just when I see it with no delay or guesswork.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

