beach spaghetti

Kelp is a form of giant seaweed that grows plentifully around the Gulf Islands. It’s a fast-growing annual plant that often gets washed ashore in winter, its bright yellow-orange ropes looking oddly like spaghetti.

Pender Island kelp Hamilton Beach

Kelp can grow into great underwater forests, providing shelter for many ocean species such as fish, shellfish, and jellies. Indigenous peoples used it to make fishing lines and nets. It is edible too, and there are recipes for kelp salads, soups, and even smoothies, though I’ve never had a burning desire to try any of these. Maybe one day when I’m feeling adventurous…

17 thoughts on “beach spaghetti

  1. Paige

    A really interesting photo … I’ve seen my share of kelp and seaweed but don’t think I’ve ever seen this. Isn’t nature amazing??

    Reply
  2. dunelight

    Kelp smells so marvelously briny and when I walk I wonder which forms are edible. I love Japanese seaweed salad. Can I not have Gulf salad or Bar Harbor wraps?? I am not adventurous enough.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

