surprise

When I first found out that this week’s photo challenge was “inspiration”, I thought it was almost too broad a subject. How on earth could I choose an image that encapsulates what I find inspiring about photography? But then I recalled this picture and how I felt when I took it.

DSCF9939

I happened to be out in the back yard a couple of evenings ago, and heard a rustle. This beautiful young buck peeked out at me from behind the tree, no doubt just as surprised to see me as I was to see him. The glow of the setting sun lit him up like he was on a stage. For two seconds he stood there, and then was gone.

It was a magical, fleeting moment, and I had been lucky enough to be there to experience it, and record it.

Whether it be a serendipitous encounter like this one, or the particular play of light and shadow on a scene, or a striking combination of shape, colour and texture–it’s the thrill of discovery, the capturing of the unexpected, that makes photography so much fun.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Inspiration

15 thoughts on “surprise

  1. Paige

    You not only take great photos, you write really well too! I loved reading what you wrote as much as seeing what you captured. : )

    Reply
  2. LaNae

    If he was in my yard he’d be peeking around the tree to see what delicious flowers the nice lady might be planting now. πŸ™‚ That’s how they roll in my neighborhood.

    Reply
  3. Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

    Wonderful photo. I always think of Bambi when I see a photo like that. πŸ™‚ My reality is my neighbor feeds a herd all winter and they tear my gardens up, eating my blueberry bushes down to stubs which is not such a positive experience. So, I certainly enjoy your beautiful photo and not the real thing. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

