double vision

A while back I stumbled across the extraordinary multiple-exposure photography of Valda Bailey. Seeing her work inspired me to start experimenting with the multiple-exposure mode on my own camera.

DSCF9894

Over the past week or so I have wasted invested an inordinate amount of time pounding my head against the wall learning how my camera processes light and dark values when layering two images and how to produce a picture that isn’t complete crap all washed out. I’ve also discovered that changing the exposure value, aperture, and focal length between shots can affect the outcome in interesting ways.

DSCF9849

The end result is still totally unpredictable, and coming up with a keeper is rare, but it’s fun trying! One really great advantage of digital cameras is that they allow us to experiment without worrying about the cost of each exposure…although I fear my camera’s shutter button must be feeling the pain of the workout I’ve been putting it through.

9 thoughts on “double vision

    1. bythebriny Post author

      And then sometimes if you’re lucky, you stop pounding long enough to see there was a door in the wall all along, and you walk on through.

      Reply
  1. Paige

    Fascinating …. I used to experiment with this with my old SLR years ago, but never tried it with digital. I applaud your adventurism!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

