chocolate lilies

I went out this morning to catch the first rays on these newly bloomed chocolate lilies, another island wildflower.

DSCF6957

They grow profusely in an open meadow above the sea, in one of the island’s protected parks.

DSCF6972

I had just gotten in my car to head home when two other vehicles pulled up. Perfect timing! I’m not anti-social, but I find it much easier to get into my photographic “zone” when I’m alone. Now that tourist season has begun, I’ll be making a point of getting out early to beat the crowds.

DSCF6941

Weekly Photo Challenge: Early Bird

16 thoughts on “chocolate lilies

  1. sustainabilitea

    Those shots are excellent. I know just what you mean about not being around other people when you’re getting into the photo zone. I love the mornings when I don’t meet anyone during my walk.

    janet

    Reply
  2. Paige

    Beautiful, especially that first one. They look very much like what I will have blooming shortly, the Checkered Lily. I’m guessing they are both in the Frittilaria family. In a couple weeks you should go back looking for seed pods! : )

    Reply
    1. bythebriny Post author

      Thank you! The effect comes mostly from the hazy morning sunlight, exposing for the dark flowers, and using my macro lens at f4 to blur the background. I used Nik’s Color Efex software to add some contrast and a slight warming filter to the processed RAW files.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

