last stand

The other day the pup and I took a little hike to one of the high points on the island.

oakbluffstree

On my previous visit here the bluff was scattered with quite a few dead fallen trees that I thought I might use as foreground interest in my photos. However, when we got to the top, it appeared that the parks maintenance people had been busy. All the dead wood had been cleared away–all except for this one tree, that is. I don’t know if this particular tree fell after the clean-up, or if it was left for aesthetic reasons.

Anyway, lesson learned. Take the shot when you see it, because there’s no guarantee that things will stay the same.

4 thoughts on “last stand

  1. Paige

    The best-laid plans often fail … I’ve learned this lesson the hard way, many times. Now if I see something I like, I turn the car around and go back. Beautiful photo!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

